Symbolism has been a great way to instill the motive amount the people, be it in a nation, a state, an organization, or even at home. One such example of allegory is the coat of arms of Australia. Here we will be talking about the coat of arms, its meaning, a brief history, and also ponder upon the most critical question – What is the importance of the crest in the coat of arms of Australia? 

A brief history of coat of arms in Australia

The coat of arms Australia is most popularly referred to as the Commonwealth coat of arms. It represents the six different states of Australia; you’ll also find an emu and a red kangaroo in the symbols, which are the national bird and the national animal of Australia. The design is stimulated by flora and wildlife. Turning into history, we get to know that the initial design was authorized way back in May 1908 by King Edward VII; however, after four years that means in 1912 it was revised and is approved by King George V; this design is used on most occasions. 

What are the benefits of the coat of arms in Australia? 

The coat of arms is used by the administration department, Nationality courts, parliament, senators, and federal members on behalf of Australia. Private organizations or people are not permitted to use the coat of arms for representing it for personal reasons. Still, they can get an official allowance under different sections under the Australian law, and also on certain occasions of State, they are allowed to carry the coat of arms. 

The coat of arms is most commonly used in the army and the naval services of Australia. Different badges represent different ranks of officers. 

What are the states and the designs of the coat of arms?

Australia has a total of 6 states only, and all 6 have their different badges, which are made to arranged together to form the coat of arms. You will find across along with stats and a lion, the cross is named as St. George’s cross and is the badge of New South Wales; a southern cross and a St. Edward’s crown in the middle represents the State of Victoria; Queensland is represented by a badge consisting of the Maltese cross of blue along with St. Edward’s crown in the center. The name of the fourth symbol is the Australian piping shrike, and it represents South Australia; Western Australia is represented by a Swan which is black and is surrounded by a plain yellow background. The last State is Tasmania, which is symbolized by a lion with one of its paws raised high in the air in a position to attack, colored red. 

So these were the different states and the different badges or symbols associated with them. These symbols are all unique, with few of them having common elements like the crown of St. Edward. These badges collectively are known as escutcheon and are backed by the ermine border to form the coat of arms.

What do the national birds and animals of Australia symbolize? 

The national bird of Australia is an Emu, and the national animal is Kangaroo. These animals are among the most unique animals because they are only found in the Australian states. Now, you may think that this may not be the only reason for choosing them as a national emblem, then you are right. The other and the most significant reason these two have been selected as the national animal and the national animal of Australia and are given a place in the emblem is that these two have a characteristic of never moving backward. They can not walk backward and only pace forward. This motivates the natives of Australia to constantly move forward on the part of success, glory, and development. 

Who bears the coat of arms in Australia? 

If you see the official coat of arms, you’ll notice a kangaroo and an emu holding the flag upright. The kangaroos are not ant other kangaroos but the Red Kangaroos, which are exclusively available and breed only on the Australian ground. The floral design and the leaves also represent the rich wildlife of Australia as it holds a lot of species of animals and birds apart from Emu and Kangaroo, which are chosen as the national bird and animals of Australia.

What is the importance of golden and green colors? 

You’ll find elements of green and golden on the coat of arms Australia, and the green represents the unique and significant wildlife as mentioned earlier. However, golden is chosen as the national color. The decision of selecting green and golden as the national colors of Australia was made on 19th April, in the year 1984. 

How to give an Australian touch to your living?

Suppose you are someone residing in Australia or someone who is fascinated by the culture and heritage of Australia and wishes to give an Australian touch to your living. You can gift your loved ones a family heritage gift and make their special day worth remembering. The Heraldic Family Names offers you a variety of products like Family crest plaque or coat of arms shield, Coffee mugs with the family crest, coat of arms crystal whiskey glass, Delux stubby cooler, coat of arms embroidered golf t-shirts, and much more products which can help you keep your Australian culture and influence quite close to your heart and lifestyle.